The Butcher's Guild
tloc1000 private msg quote post Address this user
My uncle recently willed some land to me and my cousin. I plan on fencing it and starting to raise cattle to get the ag exemption on the land. My brother inlaw already raises cattle and has them butchered and then sells the meat to friends, family, and co-workers. The butcher he uses has a 3-4 month wait. I was thinking about combining the cattle from our ranches and then opening a butcher shop/ meat market in our local town. It is in the Dallas area.

I have no experience in butchering except for the deer and hogs I hunt. I do everything including grinding but I have no idea about what cuts of meat I am making.

So, my questions really are:

Can the animal be slaughtered at the same place it is butchered?
What is an estimated cost of opening a butcher shop?
Would it be worth going hoof to market?
Post 1 IP   flag post
hertzmann private msg quote post Address this user
In most states, any meat sold to the public requires inspection by the FSIS. In some states there is a certified state branch that performs the same function for meat not going across state lines. Setting up a small slaughtering facility is not prohibitive, but you MUST be familiar with the rules and be somewhat politically connected in your county. You can process the meat at the slaughtering facility, but not in the same rooms. Once again, this is highly regulated so read the rules.
Post 2 IP   flag post
memays private msg quote post Address this user
yes, all meat sold must be inspected by FSIS. check your states dept of ag to see if you have a state program. www.fsis.usda.gov is the website, but it’s difficult to navigate, be aware! state programs are usually the best bet for small producers b/c the federal regulators are costly.
Post 3 IP   flag post
COcraftbutch private msg quote post Address this user